top of page
  • electricdreamsmedi

Q&A Interview With Emerging Artist Madoc Plane


Emerging artist Madoc Plane has gone and done it again with his sophomore single “Right Reason” which was dropped July 21st and is fuelled with alt-pop sounds and a great rhythm to say the least. We caught up with the extremely talented singer-songwriter for a Q&A which you can read below.



Could you tell us a little bit about yourself? Do you have any hobbies/interests outside of music? Childcare, footy, golf, gym, family.

- When I’m not doing music things, you’ll find me playing golf or at the gym, usually with close friends. I’m super close with my two brothers which is something that I’m very grateful for, so a lot of my time is spent hanging out with them. Other than spending time with friends and family, I’ve been working in primary school childcare for the last four years and get so much joy out of it.


What does a day in the life look like for you when you’re motivated to write/create music?

- A day in the life when I’m motivated to work on my music would always start with

a gym session in the morning to start the day off well. I have a small little bedroom studio in my room which is where most the creation happens. I’ll spend the first stage of a writing session just listening to music that has been inspiring me and trying to draw out certain sounds or themes from those tunes. My actual writing process is very much a “go with the flow” method. Most of the time I’ll start by creating a drum groove from samples and then make a progression that sits nicely over the groove. Then melody and then lyrics. The lyrical meaning usually comes after I’ve written the song weirdly enough. Once I feel like I’m happy with the foundations I’ll send it to some of my talented friends who can add some extra sauce. Recently, I’ve been spending a lot of time writing and producing with Blake Weller who did most of the production on ‘Right Reason’. Being able to bounce ideas off someone with a new perspective is vital in song writing.


Talk is through your new track “Right Reason” and what the inspiration is behind it.

- At the time of writing this I was going through a brief phase of low self-esteem. I used this song to speak about the emotion I was feeling at the time which I think really helped me recognise and learn some things about myself. The use of the 6/4 time in the chorus probably shows the Jordan Rakei influence as I was

listening to a lot of his stuff around the time of writing the tune.


What do you hope that listeners will take away after listening to “Right Reason”?

- To be honest, I really hope that the listeners just vibe out to the tune. I think the themes in the song are pretty relatable for a lot of people. After listening to ‘Right Reason’ I hope some people latch on to the emotional side of the tune.



If you could play a show anywhere in the world, at any venue - where would it be and why?

- I haven’t done too much travelling in my life, so I can’t really think of anywhere

specific that’s not in Australia. I think it would be incredible to perform an arena

show to a massive audience with some of my very talented friends.


Where do you hope to see yourself in 5 years time?

- In 5 years time I would love to be a couple albums deep into my music career

and have toured to audiences all around the world. I think something that a lot of musos dream of is being able to tour the world and play music that you love to

people who know your songs. Touring in the next couple years is definitely a

massive goal of mine.




 


bottom of page